– Best Australian Blogs (and one of those ‘vote for me!’ pleas)

16/04/2012 at 10:52 pm | Posted in Best Australian Blogs | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

There are so many amazing blogs written in Australia, and I have some favourites. Some of these are people I’ve met, some friends, and some I’ve never met at all, except by conversations on Twitter. I’ve found a real community of book lovers on Twitter, as well as those who share my passion for digital publishing.

The following blogs are some that are  up for the People’s Choice Award in Best Australian Blogs 2012, run by The Sydney Writers Centre. Actually there are 1024 blogs in this award, staggering number.

The finalists are chosen by a select group of judges, but the People’s Choice is just that. For the people. By the people.

Oh, and I’m in there too. I really don’t compare with the talent of these bloggers, but entered on a whim. I didn’t notice that I’d entered the People’s Choice as well as being a shy soul at heart I don’t feel that comfortable asking for votes. BUT If you’ve read something on this blog that was of use to you, if you have leant something, if you’re a really nice person… well, you get the gist.  Under D for Digireado. Tell your networks. And maybe at the same time vote for these really brilliant blogs because they deserve to win!

(International readers: you don’t need to be located in Australia to vote, so you can vote too!)

Adventures of a Bookonaut: Reviews, News and Views on Speculative Fiction.

“Adventures of a Bookonaut is a book blog focussing on Australian Speculative Fiction (Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror). ”

Sean was the reason I read two great books recently. My Year of Reading Australian Women Writers has relied on recommendations and Sean has given me some great suggestions. He introduced me to Margo Lanagan (wonderful discovery) and Claire Corbett (When We Have Wings, you have to read) and Sean is also really interesting to follow online or on Twitter @seandblogonaut. Thanks Sean for introducing me to some amazing books this year.


Book’d Out: Book Reviews and News.

“So, I read a lot. I have always loved to read. So far for 2010 I have 233 books in 239 days according to my Goodreads stats – thats 76951 pages, . It hardly seems like enough to me and I still have so many I’m desperate to read. ”

There was I thinking I was a fast reader but Shelleyrae has taught me that I’m not! A book reviewer, book lover, great supporter of the Australian Women Writers Challenge for 2012 I got to ‘know’ Shelleyrae on Twitter, Facebook and blogging. She’s also been wonderful in giving me recommendations for my Year of Reading Australian Women Writers – she obviously is getting through quite a lot herself! You can find Book’d out at a lot of online destinations or follow her on Twitter @bookdout or via her Facebook page.

Book to The Future: Reading, time travel…and nice, hot cups of tea

“Welcome to Book to the Future: possibly the only literary time travel blog in the world.”

Michelle’s blog – apart from being beautiful to look at – has an intriguing concept. For a ‘bookish person’ she felt she hadn’t read some of the classics, so starting at 1900 she is reading and reviewing one book for every year, working her way to the present. With a few detours along the way, she is currently at 1957. Michelle and I have been ‘Twitter followers’ for a while now and she has some great stuff to say so follow her at @booktothefuture. She says she’s a Twitter addict, so maybe that makes me one too?


“Killings is the blog of Kill Your Darlings. We publish commentary, reviews, interviews, podcasts and more. It’s where we continue the conversation with our authors and with you.”

I’ve mentioned in a few blog posts already how much I enjoyed reading one issue of Kill Your Darlings (you can read those posts here and here). In fact, I loved it so much that this year when my sister asked me what I wanted for my birthday I ripped out the subscription page and handed it to her. Somehow I ended up with a bottle of Lavender bath oil instead. I’m 99.99999% certain my sister doesn’t read my blog so I can probably safely say I don’t even like Lavender.

Life With Gusto

Jess and I used to work together, but that’s not why I love this blog. Jess blogs about life, death, parenting, cooking, laughing, loving and everything in between. In person she has a brilliant  sense of humour and this carries over to her writing. A talented editor, she’s also a great writer and I really recommend this blog to anyone who has had a child. Or even if you don’t have a child. I really hate the term ‘Mommy Blogger’ so I’m not prepared to say she is one. She happens to be a mother who blogs. But she’s more than that. She’s an observer of life and her writing touches all of us. Follow. You’ll see.

Not Quite Nigella:

I met Lorraine and her husband (referred to on her blog as Mr NQN) recently when accompanying a travel writer friend friend around the South Australian coastline. It was an absolute delight getting to know this clever couple. Lorraine has a great following and even at the the to-die-for Southern Ocean Lodge the staff there were big fans. Lorraine has a book coming out soon and I’ll be keen to read it, but in the meantime if you are interested in good food and travel I recommend you become one of the 190,000 readers a month visiting her blog. You can also follow her on Twitter @NotQuiteNigella or Facebook.

This is just a small taste of some of the talented people out there. Support the Australian blogosphere and get voting!

Click here for the voting form, you can vote only once, but for as many blogs as you want!


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Anna – I finally worked out how to leave a comment on your blog! Thank you for mentioning Book to the Future. I haven’t actually voted in the Best Blogs competition yet, because every time I read through the list, I get sidetracked and looking up other blogs. There are so many impressive Australian blogs – including yours! When I do get around to voting, I’ll be sure to vote for you too.

    And lavender bath oil? So, so wrong…

    • I’m worried now, is it hard to find where to leave a comment? But thanks for coming by Michelle. The list of blogs is so long I’ve probably rushed through them and I have a bit of a worry I’ve missed some (and I can only vote once). And yes, Lavender bath oil. I should have said I LIKE lavender – plants. In SA recently saw white Lavender and that was beautiful. It’s just the oil I don’t like for some reason (and it just doesn’t compare to a subscription to KYD)

  2. Thanks for the kind words, lovely Anna!

    • They are not really adequate. I’m a big fan!

  3. Anna, you have my vote most definitely! Thank you so much for the kind shout out and words. It was so much fun to meet and travel with you! :D Best of luck with the competition! x

    • Thanks for visiting the blog Lorraine. I really hope our paths cross again soon but in the meantime I’ll see you in Cyberspace! Say hi to Mr NQN!

  4. Voted for you if I hadn’t mentioned it previously on twitter.

    • ah, thanks Sean! I’ve voted for all the great blogs mentioned on this post.

  5. Thanks for the mention and for bringing to my attention some lovely blogs

  6. These look great – I’m going to check them out. This year’s competition is turning out some very fine Aussie book blogs! Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks Katy! I’ve just scooted over and looked at your blog and Twitter, and appreciate you sharing this post with your followers.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

